Lemons and Roses

Life Gives You Both So Enjoy the Journey…

Getting My Ducks, er Turkey, In a Row November 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amy Button @ 12:09 pm

Thanksgiving. It’s a holiday that we almost always travel to my parents house. Three years ago we stayed home because my parents went to my brother’s house and one year they came here but other than that we’ve traveled. Well, in light of everything that’s happened in the last couple of months we’ve realized our need for stability and I’ve expressed my desire to establish our own traditions for holidays. So we decided to stay home for the big holidays for the forseeable future. The down side is that I’m really going to miss my family. The upside is that my brother’s family (7) and my family (5) won’t be jammed into my parents house, sharing one bathroom. And in reality the family dynamic is warm and fuzzy in my thoughts but there’s a reason that the National Lampoon movies are so successful- everybody has a cousin Eddy in their family. Christmas Vacation is one of my favorite movies (although I’ve realized that I can’t watch it with the kiddos around) but it’s funny because I can relate to it. Of course I totally reserve the right to completely change my mind next year… 

The agenda is to have Thanksgiving on our own schedule which means that I get to watch the Thanksgiving Day parade. I don’t usually sit and watch the whole thing but I do like to watch some of it and so do the kids. Sometimes I wonder if I was dropped on my parents doorstep because that’s just one of the many things I like to do that nobody else does. Plus I get to (somewhat) flex my creative muscles in the kitchen. Perhaps a spatchcocked Turkey this year? I do know that I’ll have to make broccoli casserole and using Velveeta in anything pretty much takes away any foodie points I might have earned. Amanda couldn’t possibly live if I didn’t make it and if I’m going to be completely honest, I like Velveeta. I know, but I was raised on it and I ate a Velveeta and Miracle Whip sandwich every single day in the first grade. Yummo- I know. So, ok, my palette isn’t completely refined. But I do want to make at least a couple of new things, even if it’s just dessert. But realistically I can’t go crazy and make tons of food because 1. We’ll never eat that much and 2. I very little space for leftovers. I do have a plan for leftover turkey though. The day after Thanksgiving we’re planning on skipping the black Friday experience and intend to go hiking instead. I don’t like shopping when you’re shoulder to shoulder with people, I love hiking, I love waterfalls and leftover turkey sandwiches sounds fabulous. I can’t really think of a better way to spend the day. Unless it rains. Then I’d better think of a better way to spend the day. 

And to wrap-up Halloween…here’s Princess Lolly. I have to hand it to Amanda, she always comes up with something creative and fantastic. This year she and her friend Janae (the two of them are affectionately referred to as “Jamanda”) were Queen Frostine and the aforementioned Princess Lolly. Last year they were Captain Hook and Tinker Bell. This year she attached lollipops to tulle and put that all over her dress. The funny thing was that her body heat made the lollipops melt and drip down her dress a bit. It made me laugh.  

100_1452

Princess Lolly made a Starbuck's run

I have to admit that I don’t put in the effort to think about costumes that much. They’re expensive and I don’t sew very well and it’s just not a motivation. But it’s really important to Chloe. She wanted to really, really, for real trick-or-treat this year and I wanted to go downtown. So we hit the pumpkinfest, a bit late, then headed to the houses for trick-or-treating. Along with a lot of other people. Since the kids hadn’t really experienced anything other than church festivals and the mall it was a bit overwhelming to them- especially Chloe. The home owners had done it up right, with spooky music and costumes and themes and dark tunnels…and Chloe begged to go to the mall. There were a lot of really scary masks that made her hide her face and skip houses. Oh, and the pumpkin house? Scary. Travis checked it out and it was a no-go. So we took our (freezing) sweet, scared cheerleader and snow princess (I know she looks like Santa Claus but she says she’s a snow princess, so she’s a snow princess) to the mall.

100_1457

I love my stubborn sweet Chloe who desperately didn’t want to wear a jacket even though it was in the 50’s. She told me that she wouldn’t be cold because she had Cuban blood and I told her that her Cuban blood would freeze. She froze. But she was happy and really wanted to show off her costume.100_1451

I really had so much fun. It was great to be with Travis and the girls and even though Chloe doesn’t want to trick-or-treat next year (I fear I’ve scarred her) I think it was still a great day.

 

5 Responses to “Getting My Ducks, er Turkey, In a Row”

  1. Mary Kelso Says:

    Love Amanda’s costume. Too funny/cute.

    The little ones look adorable and I’ll bet Chloe was completely into her cheerleader role.

    Glad you guys had a great time.

  2. Mom Says:

    I always like the parade too but as you know I was always in the kitchen and didn’t get to watch. Maybe this year if everyone sleeps late. Love the girls costumes.

  3. Amy Button Says:

    I remember somebody not letting anybody in the kitchen to help 😉

  4. Christy Says:

    Great costumes – your girls all look so cute 😉
    I’m really proud of you for starting up your own holiday thing. That’s really hard to do in the face of already-established extended-family stuff. I can’t wait to hear all the details. Enjoy that parade, girl!

  5. Amy Button Says:

    Thanks Christy. It’s tough changing things but I’m hoping it’s going to be worth it. I think it will be.


Leave a Reply

