Lemons and Roses

Life Gives You Both So Enjoy the Journey…

The Most Fabulous Day October 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amy Button @ 12:17 pm
I had the most wonderful day in recent memory on Monday. I picked Chloe up from school and decided that we wouldn’t go straight home but would do something I’ve wanted to do since we moved here- walk on Main Street and take pictures. The leaves are really fantastic right now and the weather was perfect, cool and dry, and I was having a fantastic hair day. So off we went.
The first stop was the Green-Moore house. I can’t imagine living in a Victorian house but it’s wonderful for pictures. Most of the historical homes have these plaques in front that tell you when the house was built and I presume the names of the people that built it. One day I’d like to find out if I’m right about that.

100_1396

Green-Moore House 1896

100_1401
This is the leafy mess that made me decide to do this. We don’t have any trees like this in our yard and I knew the girls would love it…and they did. There were squeals and giggles and throwing leaves in the air. It really was just what I needed to clear my head. I felt so very happy- I’m going to do it again soon.
100_1400
100_1404

Looking Up

And the funny house. It probably has a real name but I look for it with every changing season or holiday. The owner(s) really take pride in dressing it up.
100_1406
The Funny House

It’s really cute but I think I might be a little creeped out with all of the dolls and things on the front porch.

100_1407
They even invite you into their pumpkin house. It’s up all the time during Halloween but we’ve never been in there. Mostly because I can’t imagine just walking into someone’s garage and also because I have no idea what’s in there. I see lots of kids going in and out of there on Halloween night so it’s probably fine.
100_1408

Actually Main Street is a pretty popular place to Trick or Treat. The street is lined with cars and there are kids everywhere. Last year one of the houses had a screen set up and they were playing The Munsters. That made me want to stop. That’s what I’m thinking of doing with the kids this year. We usually take them to the mall and they get about 5 pieces of candy- which is all I want them to have- but it’s not as much fun. I don’t think I have Travis sold on the idea yet though. 

100_1412

My Favorite Tree

 This is my favorite tree. I look for it every single year because the leaves are so brilliant. It’s on the corner of a really busy intersection and the top has been a bit mangled by the electric company (the threat of ice and snapping lines and all) but I still think it’s beautiful. The owners have ivy covering the trunk and I think it’s beautiful.

There was lots more fun that day. We walked to the shops and ran into people selling Shih Tzus on the street. They were so completely gorgeous and have made me rethink getting a Westie.

100_1424

Heyday Gifts in Franklin

The shopping didn’t last all that long because it’s not nearly as much fun as just walking. Not with girls that want to touch *everything*. So we made our way back and talked about all the other things we want to see and do- like buy a Shih Tzu. And play in the leaves. It was so fabulous. It really was the most fabulous day.

100_1426
The end of our trip
 

5 Responses to “The Most Fabulous Day”

  1. Mary Kelso Says:

    Those pictures are beautiful. You captured the girls and the fun and the colors so well. I need to do stuff like that more often.

    I also need to do stuff like yesterday more often. It’s good to chat face to face.

  2. Amy Button Says:

    Yesterday *was* really nice. My throat was a bit sore from all the talking which must mean that I had a really good time. We really must do it more often.

  3. Christy Says:

    Aw. I’m sad that I didn’t get to chat with you guys too 😦
    Fantastic hair days just help a lot, don’t they? They make you want to *do* stuff. Your pictures are all so beautiful. I desperately wish I could see all those beautiful colors in person. I might even go into the pumpkin house/garage!

  4. Amy Button Says:

    We would have loved it if you were there and you’re always welcome, of course. It’s a long drive but it would be so fun!

  5. Looks like the best kind of day to me! What gorgeous old houses.


Leave a Reply

